About Opening Doors

Baxter Community Center’s Annual Celebration and Benefit

November 16, 2017, JW Marriott Hotel  |  Social: 6pm – Dinner & Program: 6:30pm

On November 16th, 2017 Baxter Community Center will be honoring Yvonne May and Dr. Bob Bulten during our annual Opening Doors Celebration at the JW Marriott in downtown Grand Rapids.  Our honorees will receive Baxter’s Saint Francis Award, presented each year to two individuals who have gone above and beyond to champion racial equity and social justice in Grand Rapids. 

This year’s theme is Oaks of Righteousness. Our honorees bring it to life as they have been strong & unwavering influences for change throughout their lives. We hope you will join us in honoring them with your presence as well as becoming an Opening Doors sponsor supporting Baxter Community Center, a cause that is very near and dear to their hearts.

All funds raised go directly towards funding Baxter’s efforts to provide a safe place to go for neighbors of all ages. Our programs have a profound impact in their lives. They include a Child Development Center, Medical Clinic, Dental Office, Food and Clothing Pantry, Youth Mentoring, Adult Education and Community Groups and much, much more!

We are also pleased to have an honorary committee (see below) made up of Baxter champions and esteemed members of our community. These are individuals who believe in Baxter’s work and invite you to join them in supporting Opening Doors and Baxter Community Center. 

Purchase Tickets
Honorary Committee 2017
Shatawn and Nadia Brigham
Brian and Aggie Cloyd
Janice Flowers
Larry and Mary Gerbens
Stephen Haarman
Jim and Kathy Hackett
Ronald and Heidi Hofman
Sid and Cate Jansma Jr.
Dallas and Senita Lenear
Bill Lewis (Yesterdog)
Terry and Mae Morgan
Charlie Selmon Jr.
Loutisha Patterson
Elizabeth Welch
Kate Wolters

Recent Honorees

Dallas Lenear

2016 St. Francis Award Recipient

Phil Quist

2016 St. Francis Award Recipient

Laura Pritchard

2015 St. Francis Award Recipient

Larry Gerbens

2015 St. Francis Award Recipient

Thank you to our Sponsors

St Francis Award Presenting Sponsor
Sapphire Sponsors
Ruby Sponsors
...and to all of our Pearl Sponsors and others who make this event possible!